Goldbelly Reviews 

15,587
•
TrustScore 3.5 out of 5

3.3

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Evaluating 123 reviews, most reviewers were somewhat happy with their experience overall. Consumers genuinely appreciate discovering specialty food items and regional favorites from popular nationwide restaurants delivered directly to their homes. Many people enjoy receiving delicious baked goods, custom cakes, and sweet treats for birthdays, holidays, and family celebrations. Some reviewers were not happy with unexpected delivery delays and spoiled perishable items caused by inadequate cold packing materials. Customers frequently reported significant difficulties reaching support staff when trying to resolve missing shipments or ordering mistakes. Additionally, very high prices combined with unexpected product quality issues left a portion of buyers feeling quite disappointed.

What people talk about most

Order

People report ambiguous experiences with order, noting that while past purchases often arrived fine, recent... See more

Product

Users describe ambiguous interactions with product, noting that while the food offerings feature an amazing... See more

Delivery service

Consumers find delivery service to be frustrating, frequently reporting delayed packages, incorrect... See more

Customer service

Reviewers highlight widespread dissatisfaction with customer service, reporting long hold times, unhelpful... See more

Price

Customers consistently note negative experiences with price, reporting that items are very expensive and... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered a red velvet cake for my family in Georgia. It arrived as promised. Box intact, however the icing was all smeared. I was disappointed that my gift wasn't as described. I did reach out to t... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Bought the baby back ribs. The very first line in the description says "shipped in dry ice." The box came, left on my porch, I reached down to pick it up and almost threw my back out. The ribs were NO... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I got the Passover dinner from The Borscht Belt and it was so salty 2/3rds of it was inedible. I spent $150 on it and they offered a 25$ credit to their site. In the past, orders have been fine but... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered an expensive strawberry several layer cake. It was meh. If I’d been blindfolded, I couldn’t have told u the prevailing flavor other than a taste of butter. I paid $100 for this? Don’t bother... See more

Company replied


Company details

  1. Restaurant

Written by the company

Goldbelly is a curated online marketplace for regional and artisanal foods crafted by local food purveyors throughout the United States.


Contact info

3.3

Average

TrustScore 3.5 out of 5

16K reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

No recent history of asking for reviews

This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative

Replied to 82% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 2 weeks

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

3.3

All reviews

(15,587)

124 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Horrible delivery!

Horrible delivery experience. The packaging did not sufficiently keep the dessert cold and it was not secured properly. This resulted in a pie that was completely destroyed and was a pile of mush. Goldbelly’s value is to get consumer access to delicious food from across the country - they should prioritize delivering the food properly!

July 3, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Donna, Thank you for your review. We always strive to make each and every experience with our food explorers top-notch. We’re sorry to hear about any delivery difficulty. We’re happy to sort out any additional issues you may have if you need. If so, you can reach out to us at support@goldbelly.com.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Do not order from this site unless you…

Do not order from this site unless you are okay with their return policy. The package I ordered was delivered late and it was completely spoiled. When I requested a refund it was denied. They only offer a replacement or site credit. Order with caution!!!!!!

July 3, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, Food Explorer! I'm so sorry about the shipping delay with your order. Thank you for sharing some valued feedback.

We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. For items that experience delay, we always ask if the items are ok when they arrive, even if they are delayed in transit. A lot of products are shelf-stable for up to 7 days.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.



Rated 1 out of 5 stars

my gift arrived damaged

my gift arrived damaged. no way to talk to a person. can't get a refund to buy my grandson another gift. they're only giving me a credit and for only 90 days. i'm chatting with an A.I.

July 3, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Diane, Thanks so much for reaching out to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry for the issues that occurred with your order and in our communication with you. It's always our best intention to give the best customer experience possible, and I'm sorry that we missed the mark here.

We thank you for your patience, and we're glad one of our agents was able to make this right for you.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Tried one more time, but never again

I decided to give them one more time. The last time they sent me melted ice cream. They consistently do not deliver when they said they would - I tried to cancel the order and they could have gotten the order back because it hadn't shipped but didn't. The meat they sent me was all bad. Worse customer service and worse company to try to deal with.

July 3, 2025
Unprompted review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

My product was supposed to be delivered…

My product was supposed to be delivered on Monday. They changed it to Tuesday. Now new email from them on Friday. I have been tracking it because it has chocolate in it and I live in Texas. I called to cancel and found out they DO NOT REFUND YOUR MONEY!! THEY WILL GIVE YOU A CREDIT. I FIND THAT UNBELIEVABLE! ALSO THE WORKER TOLD ME THAT ITS OK IF IT COMES ROOM TEMPERATURE. I don’t know if that’s the true or not, but, I DONT BELIEVE WHAT THEY SAY!

July 2, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Wendy,

I'm so sorry about the shipping delay with your order. Thank you for sharing some valuable feedback. We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. For items that experience delay, we always ask if the items are ok when they arrive, even if they are delayed in transit. A lot of products are shelf-stable for up to 7 days.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.


Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The Goldbelly was smart management system

Honestly, The Goldbelly was smart management system. Overall experience was perfect, need to little upgrade, But loved them.

June 26, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, Goldbelly is the first national food e-commerce marketplace for over 900+ of the best restaurants, bakeries, and local food artisans across the US. We partner with these food makers to assist them with nationwide shipping and powering their websites, making it possible for our customers to enjoy the most iconic regional foods and unique food experiences from across the country, right at home!​

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Unreliable and doesn't stand behind the ever changing deliveries, no communication from delivery service

My package was ordered and the entry skipped the first number on the address which I called to correct. Never actually corrected the package was delayed three times and came on a different date than the last communication. This company is UNRELIABLE and doesn't stand behind the committed delivery dates. I have removed them from my teams approved vendor list. If we ran our business like this....we would be out of business!!

June 2, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Patricia, Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience, and it's something we never want our customers to have. While we can appreciate this was a gift order, we can only deliver with the information that we receive at checkout out and we're not always able to make last-minute changes.

It's very important to be sure that when you're placing an order, the shipping address is accurate. Anytime we change an address while it's still in transit will delay the package, which we made clear upon your request.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Love this app

Love this app! The variety is amazing. I’d be very happy if they add more too

There have been some definite Home-runs. Yes, it can be expensive, but on par with going out to eat at nicer restaurants.

June 4, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hello, fellow food lover! We’re so happy you enjoyed your most recent food exploration with us. We can’t wait to see what you try with us next!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

This site is totally misleading

This site is totally misleading. When I go into a particular restaurant, it takes me to the gold belly website. I’m thinking that I could send a gift card to redeem at a restaurant, but it’s only for merchandise totally deceptive.

May 29, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, Goldbelly is the first national food e-commerce marketplace for over 900+ of the best restaurants, bakeries, and local food artisans across the US. We partner with these food makers to assist them with nationwide shipping and powering their websites, making it possible for our customers to enjoy the most iconic regional foods and unique food experiences from across the country, right at home!​
Once your order is placed, our partner shops prepare and pack the order at their facility and send it right from their doorstep to yours.​ We love food and are so thankful for the opportunity to help people explore the tastes they've always heard about, or have always wanted to try. See you soon!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I purchased the Dubai Chocolate Bar…

I purchased the Dubai Chocolate Bar from Knipschildt Chocolatier through Goldbelly, relying on the ingredient list shown on their website. The listing made no mention of artificial dyes or preservatives—which was important to me as a health-conscious customer.

When the product arrived, the actual label revealed multiple synthetic dyes (FD&C Blue 2, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 3) and potassium sorbate, none of which were disclosed online at the time of my order.

I submitted a formal complaint. No response. Then, without any acknowledgment or apology, Goldbelly quietly updated the product listing to now show the dyes—clearly validating that my original concern was accurate.

While I did eventually receive a refund, the real issue is trust. Goldbelly misrepresented what they were selling, took no responsibility, and made no effort to notify customers who may have bought the product under the same false information.

This is more than bad customer service—this is a serious consumer protection issue, especially for people with allergies or chemical sensitivities. I will never use Goldbelly again and strongly urge others to be cautious if you care about accurate labeling.

Order #: 25540102
Complaint Date: May 17, 2025

May 17, 2025
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Brian, Thanks so much for your feedback. We're sorry that we missed the mark here.

It looks like one of our team members was able to make this right for you with a resolution that was deemed fair. We look forward to you enjoying something else with us on our site, and thank you for your patronage.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Our family ordered two cakes in plenty…

Our family ordered two cakes in plenty of time for our Friday party. One cake arrived and was ok but the second did not arrive. 3 hours after the party we got a message “oops my bad”. You won’t get your cake in time for the party but I have great news. We shipped it with plenty of dry ice so it will be delicious. It arrived Monday and all the dry ice was completely melted and the cake was inedible. They do not issue refunds, only a credit towards another cake. Save your money, you’re better off at a grocery store. We also had to wait over 16 minutes to get a live rude person.

May 19, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, I'm so sorry about the shipping delay with your order. Thank you for sharing some valuable feedback.

We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. For items that experience delay, we always ask if the items are ok when they arrive, even if they are delayed in transit. A lot of products are shelf-stable for up to 7 days.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and your reaching out to our customer service team. Thanks for your patience with us. We're so glad we were able to make this issue right with you!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Goldbelly was a belly flop!

I’m extremely disappointed with my recent experience using Goldbelly for my mother’s 73rd birthday. Our family is originally from New Jersey but now lives in Oregon, and with my aging parents not in the best health, I thought this would be a meaningful and nostalgic treat for them. We’ve used Goldbelly many times in the past for special occasions, but this experience left me frustrated and regretful.

I ordered from Town Hall Deli, selecting a sandwich with turkey, roast beef, and Swiss cheese, and even purchased a second one without cheese—spending well over $150, plus an additional birthday cake from another vendor on their site. Not only did the order arrive earlier than the delivery date I selected, but it also came completely wrong. Instead of the sandwiches I carefully chose, we received ham and tongue—items no one in our family eats.

I reached out to Goldbelly immediately and waited over 24 hours for a response. When it finally came, the representative dismissed my concern and insisted—rather snarkily—that I had indeed ordered exactly what was received. That was not the case based on the drop-down menu I used to place the order. Their unwillingness to acknowledge or correct the mistake has left me out over $150 and without the special birthday meal I’d planned.

Sadly, after this experience, I won’t be ordering from them again.

How the Service Could Have Been Better:
Order Accuracy:

The most critical failure was sending the wrong product. This suggests either a system error in the ordering interface or poor communication with the vendor.

Customer Service Response Time:

Waiting over 24 hours for a response is unacceptable, especially when dealing with a time-sensitive, special occasion order.

Customer Care & Tone:

The representative should have responded with empathy and made an effort to understand the issue before dismissing it. Even if they believed the order was correct, a more professional and helpful tone would have improved the experience.

Resolution & Accountability:

At a minimum, they should have offered a partial refund, store credit, or an immediate investigation into the website interface to verify if there was an ordering glitch.

May 12, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi William & Marie, Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience, and it's something we never want our customers to have. While we can appreciate this was for a birthday gift, we can only deliver with the information that we receive at checkout.

It's very important to be sure that when you're placing an order, the information is accurate.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

the services are going down!!!needs to…

the services are going down!!!needs to focus on the food as well

May 15, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your order! While we wish we could guarantee that every customer loves every item just as much as we do, everyone's palate does vary a little! We hope you can find another great item with us in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Nope would not do it again

Nope would not do it again. Paid extra for a preferred shipping date and the item was delivered 5 days later! Way past Moms birthday. My mom opened the box and her cookies were smashed to bits from being in transit so long. No refunds oh well 1 star it is.

May 13, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience and it's something we never want our customers to have.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Last 2 orders finally cancelled after several 'Production delays"

I have ordered from Goldbelly for several years, mostly as gifts with only 1 issue during that amount of time. Now in the last 5 months I have had 2 gift purchases have the delivery dates changed multiple times and finally the orders cancelled. Not great when they were for the same person! Goldbelly, maybe you should vet your suppliers better to make sure they can accommodate the orders they receive!

May 9, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi April, Thanks so much for reaching out to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry for the issues that occurred with your order. It's always our best intention to give the best customer experience possible, and I'm sorry that we missed the mark here.

We thank you for your patience, and we look forward to you enjoying something else with us on our site. Thank you for your patronage.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered a cake for Saturday delivery…

I ordered a cake for Saturday delivery for Mother's Day, and as of Monday night (two days later), it still has not arrived. Goldbelly refused to refund my money, citing their all-sales-final policy. This makes sense for an item received, but we never got the cake. So now, my only recourse (after 2-3 messages back and forth with customer service) is getting a credit that expires after 90 days. This is a supremely dumb, unfriendly customer policy. I will not purchase from them again.

May 10, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Thank you for your feedback. We’d be happy to assist you. We were able to locate your order, and a team member will be in contact with you shortly via support@goldbelly.com

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Awful service

Awful service
I ordered a cake for my daughter’s 3rd birthday, I was notified last minute that her ordered would be late when I specifically ordered for that date. I did get a full refund for my order: I had to find my daughter a new cake last minute for her birthday party. I decided to try it again considering vegan options of an ice cream cake are very limited where I live. I ordered another one for Mothers Day, I was notified today that it will not be here tomorrow that unfortunately they are out of that order. Save your money and go elsewhere. I will not be ordering from this company again.

May 9, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Thanks so much for reaching out to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry for the issues that occurred with your order, and in our communication to you. It's always our best intention to give the best customer experience as possible, and I'm sorry that we missed the mark here.

We thank you for your patience, and we really do appreciate your feedback and hope that you can try something else with us in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Ordered frozen onion soup frozen from…

Ordered frozen onion soup frozen from chef Adrianne calvo. Goldbelly delivered it 2 days late with melted cheese and sour soup.

May 9, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Sharon, thanks so much for your feedback! We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. It looks like you reached out to our support team, and a team member was able to set up a replacement. Thanks for working with us while we resolved this issue. We hope this is enjoyed the second time around!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Awful, terrible do not do business

Awful, terrible, do not use their service!! I ordered very expensive shortbread cookies ($65 for 9 cookie bars) and did not notice the apartment number did not get populated. Received notification that it was out for delivery and then nothing. I had to go onto the tracking site to find in the notes it said no apartment number returned to sender. Their response? We’ll give you a one time 50% off to resend the same product to the correct address. No thanks. They couldn’t contact me for the apartment number?! Wow. Do not do business with people like this.

May 7, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Food Explorer! Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience, and it's something we never want our customers to have. While we can appreciate this was a special treat, we can only deliver with the information that we receive at checkout, and we're not always able to make last-minute changes.

It's very important to be sure that when you're placing an order, the shipping address is accurate.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to provide a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to attempt to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing Experience

Disappointing Experience

I ordered something special expecting high quality, but what I got was poorly made, bland, and nothing like what was advertised. The packaging was a mess, and the product didn’t arrive in great condition. I reached out to customer service and got generic replies with no real help or resolution. For the price, I expected much better. Would not order again.

May 2, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Owen, Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your order! While we wish we could guarantee that every customer loves every item just as much as we do, everyone's palate does vary a little! We hope you can find another great item with us in the future.

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look