Goldbelly Reviews 

15,587
•
TrustScore 3.5 out of 5

3.3

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Evaluating 123 reviews, most reviewers were somewhat happy with their experience overall. Consumers genuinely appreciate discovering specialty food items and regional favorites from popular nationwide restaurants delivered directly to their homes. Many people enjoy receiving delicious baked goods, custom cakes, and sweet treats for birthdays, holidays, and family celebrations. Some reviewers were not happy with unexpected delivery delays and spoiled perishable items caused by inadequate cold packing materials. Customers frequently reported significant difficulties reaching support staff when trying to resolve missing shipments or ordering mistakes. Additionally, very high prices combined with unexpected product quality issues left a portion of buyers feeling quite disappointed.

What people talk about most

Order

People report ambiguous experiences with order, noting that while past purchases often arrived fine, recent... See more

Product

Users describe ambiguous interactions with product, noting that while the food offerings feature an amazing... See more

Delivery service

Consumers find delivery service to be frustrating, frequently reporting delayed packages, incorrect... See more

Customer service

Reviewers highlight widespread dissatisfaction with customer service, reporting long hold times, unhelpful... See more

Price

Customers consistently note negative experiences with price, reporting that items are very expensive and... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered a red velvet cake for my family in Georgia. It arrived as promised. Box intact, however the icing was all smeared. I was disappointed that my gift wasn't as described. I did reach out to t... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Bought the baby back ribs. The very first line in the description says "shipped in dry ice." The box came, left on my porch, I reached down to pick it up and almost threw my back out. The ribs were NO... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I got the Passover dinner from The Borscht Belt and it was so salty 2/3rds of it was inedible. I spent $150 on it and they offered a 25$ credit to their site. In the past, orders have been fine but... See more

Company replied

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered an expensive strawberry several layer cake. It was meh. If I’d been blindfolded, I couldn’t have told u the prevailing flavor other than a taste of butter. I paid $100 for this? Don’t bother... See more

Company replied


Company details

  1. Restaurant

Written by the company

Goldbelly is a curated online marketplace for regional and artisanal foods crafted by local food purveyors throughout the United States.


Contact info

3.3

Average

TrustScore 3.5 out of 5

16K reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

No recent history of asking for reviews

This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative

Replied to 82% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 2 weeks

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

3.3

All reviews

(15,587)

124 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Goldbelly is a JOKE

Goldbelly is a JOKE. I ordered Wellfleet oysters from one of their vendors. I expected oysters that would be appropriately sized. Sort of like the palm of your hand. Large plump oysters. I received 100 Wellfleet from their vendor in a nylon sack the size of a basketball. 100 REAL Wellfleet oysters would be in a sack the size of 20 pounds of russet potatoes. These so called oysters are the size of mussels. I made a $166 mistake since Goldbelly will not do ONE thing. Order from Goldbelly at your own risk.

April 29, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Winston, Thanks so much for reaching out to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry for the issues that occurred with your order. It's always our intention to give the best customer experience possible, and I'm sorry that we missed the mark here.

We thank you for your patience, and we're glad one of our agents was able to make this right for you.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing experience…

I ordered a birthday cake a week ahead of time and paid extra for express delivery so it was guaranteed to arrive on my son's birthday. Today, his birthday, I just got a message that it was delayed for several days. Very disappointing, especially since I now have no other options to get a birthday cake to him today.

April 29, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Lisa, I'm so sorry about the shipping delay with your order. Thank you for sharing some valued feedback.

We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. For items that experience delay, we always ask if the items are ok when they arrive, even if they are delayed in transit. A lot of products are shelf-stable for up to 7 days.

In the case of time-sensitive events and holidays, we do also recommend scheduling an order to arrive 2+ days before you need it, and most items can be stored until you are ready to enjoy!

If you still need to assistance, please send an email to support@goldbelly.com. We are happy to help!


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Issue with vendor and Goldbelly

Issue with vendor: The actual cake which was a Brooklyn Blackout cake from Brooklyn Blackout Company. They advertise selling this cake which is supposed to have chocolate pudding as the filling, and instead they just do chocolate butter cream inside as the filling in addition to the outer frosting. This makes the cake taste excessively sweet and inedible; in addition, the cake part is quite dry and has a bit of a salty flavor to it. For this price point, you would expect a much better quality product. You’re better off ordering from Carousel Cakes or from Ladybird Bakery in Brooklyn to get a true Brooklyn Blackout Cake. Definitely will not order from them again.

Issue with Goldbelly: No resolution of issue, basically better luck next time. Don't recommend using their services. Just order directly from the vendor of choice or go visit their physical location.

April 24, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi James, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your cake. We always recommend checking all of the details for products under "More Details" on the product page so you know what to expect! If you're unsure of something, you can always reach out to our team at support@goldbelly.com. We do hope you are able to find something else with us to enjoy in the future.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

My Experience with Goldbelly Gourmet Food Delivery

This review updates an earlier one I posted on April 22, after receiving 2 poppyseed rolls from Green's Babka, one of Goldbelly's merchants.

Goldbelly responded quickly and creditedd by account for the full amound I paid for the product including shipping.

While there was a problem with the first roll I opened, the second one turned out to be perfect, both in appearance and taste.

As the rolls aren't sent in heat resistent packaging (something that continues to puzzle me), I would advise anyone ordering in the summer to place the rolls in the refrigerator overnight before taking them out of the plastic bag in which they're enclosed.

In the end, you can feel comfortable ordering from Goldbelly in my experience.

April 22, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Esther, Thank you for your feedback, we’d be happy to assist you with us. We were able to locate your order and a team member will be in contact with you shortly via support@goldbelly.com

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Never again

Unfortunately, had a very unpleasant experience with Goldbelly. I ordered Martha Stewart Strawberry cake $119 for a birthday party of important client. When I opened the package, the blue box was ripped. When someone pays $120 for a cake, it’s not just for the taste but also for the presentation of the gift. I called the company and I offered them either to send me a new cake overnight or reimburse me so I can buy a new cake in the morning. Their solution they offered was to take the cake out of box and gift it and they offered me $15 credit for the next purchase.
What a lousy customer service.

April 18, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Alina, We’re truly sorry to hear that the orders didn’t meet your expectations. We understand how important it is for your order to arrive in perfect condition, especially for special occasions. Since each shop handles its own packaging and we don’t have a central shipping facility, the approach can vary. We’re disappointed that the presentation didn’t hit the mark this time, but we genuinely hope you’ll give us another chance in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Bait & switch

I am not sure how or why they have that many good reviews, but if you dig, you will see there are a lot of similar complaints to what I experienced.
I am from Chicago so have an expectation of what an Italian Beef is supposed to be. I ordered a 16 kit sandwich but all they did was take a single kit and cut everything in 1/2 but doubled the price. Total scam. The amount of beef you get equals 0.15 lbs meat per sandwich! A normal beef is 1/4 if not 1/2 lb.
On top of which there is no direct line and they literally ignored my complaint.
Save your stress and money and order from Tastes of Chicago and avoid this scam.

April 17, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your Italian Beef order. We always recommend checking all of the details for products under "More Details" on the product page so you know what to expect! If you're unsure of something, you can always reach out to our team at support@goldbelly.com. We do hope you are able to find something else with us to enjoy in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Gold belly rip off on delivery

I ordered Bagels for $24 and five minutes later I got an alert from Amex that my total bill was almost $70 because $45 was a delivery charge. I went right on the site to try to cancel my order it would not let me edit it. I wrote a note to service I’ve yet to hear back from them, but I am appalled at the delivery for 12 bagels and even matter that within 10 minutes, I couldn’t edit my order

April 14, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Pat, We’re sorry to hear you had a difficult time getting in touch with us when you needed assistance. I see that your issue was resolved in less than 24 hours. Thanks for your patience with us. We're so glad we were able to make this issue right with you!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Be very careful of their "Discounts" & "Free Shipping"

Once again, Goldbelly misrepresents their discounts. A recent mailer stated "20% Just use code". There is no code on the card and it's not like any discount I've ever seen in my life.

Contacted them and this was how it was explained to me: "it would be refunded once you reached out and our team gets that set up. It can still take 5-10 days to go back into your bank just depending on the bank." What???

In order to get the 20% you need to reach out to them after you place your order and request it and then, wait 5-10 days and hopefully they will charge back the discount to your card account.

Have you ever heard of anything so convoluted in your life? It's a scam, just like their "Free shipping nationwide", which also appears on the same card and on their website. They routinely surcharge many orders $20. for shipping.

I have an email of the full chat with Zyesha P. from Goldbelly that confirms everything I have stated here.

Buyer beware with their "scam" offers.

April 1, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Fred, Thanks for your feedback! We apologize for the error in our mailers- we're only human, and these mistakes can happen. We are happy to honor the discount for you. However, it does need to be retroactively applied to a qualifying order. The refund can take up to 10 days to show in your credit account, depending on your banking institution. Please follow up at support@goldbelly.com if you need additional assistance or need help placing the order. Take care!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Late delivery and stale product

I ordered a cookie assortment to be sent to my daughter in college. At first, although this was allegedly sent by UPS, they said where they were mailing to was closed. This was on a Tuesday at 10 AM. I failed to see how a college mail room could be closed at that time. Additionally, the delivery took close to a week and when it finally arrived, the cookies were stale. I reached out to them to let them know, but they would do nothing other than a partial credit for a future order and refund the delivery charge. I requested, but they refused to have the complete charge refunded. This is no way to treat a customer when you deliver an inferior product.

March 20, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience and it's something we never want our customers to have. While we can appreciate this was a gift, we can only deliver with the information that we receive at check out and we're not always able to make last minute changes.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to attempt to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Loyal Foodie Customer

Been a customer for several years now, ordering sweets to dinners to food gifts for others. While some of the food providers on the site are better than others... what is an absolute is Goldbelly's exceptional customer service. They have always done the right thing when I have had issues with delivery/quality.

March 22, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Betsy, Thank you for being a loyal customer! We’re thrilled to hear you’ve enjoyed our service and appreciate your kind words. Your support means everything to us, and we’re always here to ensure you have the best experience. Looking forward to your next order!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Ad was deceptive

Ad was deceptive; order received was not wanted. Company refused to help in any way - no replacement, no refund. No help.

November 14, 2024
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Hillel, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your order. We always recommend to check all of the details for products under "More Details" on the product page so you know what to expect! If you're unsure of something, you can always reach out to our team at support@goldbelly.com. We do hope you are able to find something else with us to enjoy in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered the black cake for $100…

I ordered the black cake for $100 before, its delicious and advertised to feed 12-15. I assumed it would be the same size but I got a 8" cake. I looked on the website and it says 8" so its my mistake. Dont rely on previous history ordering the same cake. There is no way this cake can feed 12-15 people. Very disappointed to say the least.

February 18, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Gary, We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your cake. We always recommend to check all of the details for products under "More Details" on the product page so you know what to expect! If you're unsure of something, you can always reach out to our team at support@goldbelly.com. We do hope you are able to find something else with us to enjoy in the future.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Buyer Beware: Corropolese Bakery

I ordered 4 tomato pies from Corropolese Bakery. Two out of the four pizza sauce plastic containers arrived brittle and cracked...the sauce spilled out as we opened the Goldbelly package. We made the first pizza, but used our own sauce because the first container was empty! For the second pizza, I actually spit out a sharp plastic shard. (We're thankful I'm a careful chewer.) $80 for 4 pizzas! We called Goldbelly twice and they reluctantly refunded my card $20 and then $15. Next, we called the Corropolese bakery and reported the dangerous containers...The manager said he'd talk to shipping department. That's it. So, buyer beware: I'd advise not ordering pizza from Corropolese. This delivery was a "Valentine' Day surprise" for my 73 year old fiance, who grew up on Corropolese pizza. What a disappointing day it ended up being.

February 14, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Patti, Thanks so much for reaching out to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry for the issues that occurred with your order, and in our communication to you. It's always our best intention to give the best customer experience as possible, and I'm sorry that we missed the mark here.

We thank you for your patience, and we're glad one of our agents was able to make this right for you.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Good services provider

February 11, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Bhwana, Thank you for your review! We always strive to make each and every experience with our food explorer’s top notch. We’re happy your order got delivered to you to enjoy. We’re happy to sort out any additional issues you may have if you need. If so, you can reach out to us at support@goldbelly.com.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible Service

Terrible. I ordered from them and they are WAY overpriced. But I figured I'd give them a try. They sent my order to the recipient then another totally mistaken order to the billing address. I found out immediately and told them to refund me the crazy price. Their customer service got me nowhere. They refused to refund what was a very very obvious mistake (the billing address is in the same area as the store that makes the produce so who on earth would pay 10 times the price of the item to deliver it a few blocks). Don't take the risk

Updated: you should know that the action referred to in the reply below was to give new a credit so I can order more things from them. Not to refund me for the order I clearly didn't want. Do not order from them. I've never had that experience with any delivery company. They either pick up the product and take it back or give you a refund. I can see there store from my living room window! Why in earth would I have ordered to my billing address!? The result is I'll never use them again and I also won't shop at the bagel store. So rather than refund my $70 they've lost years of business for their client. Not smart

February 2, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Rose,

Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience and it's something we never want our customers to have. While we can appreciate this was intended to be sent as a gift, we can only deliver with the information that we receive at check out and we're not always able to make last minute changes.

It's very important to be sure that when you're placing an order, the shipping address is accurate. Anytime we change an address while it's still in transit will delay the package, which we made clear upon your request.

Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly by offering a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Bypass Hold Belly and go directly to the people who make the food. 

This company epitomizes the slogan, the customer is always wrong! No matter the circumstance, Gold Belly will find a way to make it the customer’s fault and deny any refund or return. 

January 14, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Pog, Thanks for your review. We're so sorry that this was not an ideal experience, and it's something we never want our customers to have. Like any other company, we have to take steps to get to a resolution for you. We also have policies we have to adhere to protect our shops. It’s a little different working with food, as it can’t be returned or exchanged like many other things in the e-commerce world.

We thank you for allowing us to make this right with you directly with a resolution that was deemed fair. Take care, and stay safe.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

They are charging $55 dollars more per…

They are charging $55 dollars more per king cake for shipping on king cakes. I understand a shipping fee but damn come on now! That's robbery!!

February 13, 2024
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Erin,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We strive to keep shipping rates as low as possible. Most of the costs goes directly to UPS and FedEx, along with packaging to ensure your items arrive cold and fresh. We’re passionate about food and love helping you explore new flavors. We hope to serve you some delicious treats again soon!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Frequent LATE Deliveries

On average about 60% of my orders arrive later than the date they are expected. However, the problem is that the orders are picked up from the restaurant (usually by UPS) on schedule. This results in the food being in transit longer than planned and usually the food arrives unthawed and must be consumed immediately ... or thrown out. Gold Belly is not managing its Quality Control of suppliers and shippers. For example, yesterday I received a pizza delivery. The pizza arrived 1-day late, it was at room temperature, the ice pack included was very small and also melted and at room temperature. The packaging says to cook the pizza within 24-hours of being thawed ... but I have no idea when it actually thawed out. So another $90 out the window. Gold Belly will not provide a refund, only a credit for future orders. Considering the $$$ of the food on Gold Belly it really is not worth it ... unless you like to roll the dice on whether or not you will actually receive your food on time ... and in a condition that it can be consumed. Oh, and BTW ... seems Gold Belly is very selective in only highlighting "positive" reviews on their web site ... so maybe I should give this a 5-star review instead of 1-star.

January 29, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi there, I'm so sorry about the shipping delay with your order. Thank you for sharing some valued feedback.

We do say estimated delivery because once these packages are in the hands of the carrier, Goldbelly has no control when unforeseen transit/weather delays occur. For items that experience delay, we always ask if the items are ok when they arrive, even if they are delayed in transit. A lot of products are shelf-stable for up to 7 days. We certainly appreciate your patronage and your reaching out to our customer service team. We're sorry this order missed the mark. If you need additional assistance, please send an email to support@goldbelly.com.


Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Could care less about me

one package lost. Other arrived warm and now inedible. Things happen but the customer support told me there was nothing they could do though they tried their best.
They make enough money to refund or replace the order in entirety but obviously customer support is deplorable as is their shipping department.
They cannot care less after getting the sale

January 29, 2025
Unprompted review
Goldbelly logo

Reply from Goldbelly

Hi Andrew,
Thanks so much for your feedback! It looks like you reached out to our support team and a team member offered to set up a replacement or credit your Goldbelly account. Thanks for working with us while we resolved this issue. Please follow up at support@Goldbelly.com to let us know your preference.
We certainly appreciate your patronage and your reaching out to our customer service team. Thanks for your patience with us. We're so glad we can make this issue right with you!

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look