Zest Energy Ltd Reviews 

284
•
TrustScore 4 out of 5

4.1

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Evaluating 139 reviews, reviewers had a great experience with this company. People frequently praise the staff and sales consultants for being exceptionally polite, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful when guiding new buyers through the entire journey. Consumers consistently note that the overall installation service runs very smoothly, with professional technicians working efficiently, carefully managing difficult conditions, and always keeping workspaces clean. However, some people mentioned occasional issues with communication, noticeable delays regarding follow-up services, and a lack of prompt coordination for equipment collection. A few reviewers also experienced incomplete setups, missing key components, or difficulties reaching customer support after the main installation was successfully finished.

What people talk about most

Staff

Clients share satisfaction with the staff, frequently noting that representatives and installers are... See more

Service

Customers consistently note positive experiences with service, highlighting efficient installations, polite... See more

Product

People report ambiguous experiences with product, as some customers are extremely satisfied with their solar... See more

User experience

Consumers find user experience to be positive, highlighting that everything goes smoothly and... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately the engineer’s van had a breakdown and he arrived 2 hours late. However once he arrived he was very efficient. The one thing which was annoying is that no mention had been made that the... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was pretty clear on most points as far as I recall. Chris and his colleague worked well in difficult weather conditions and worked late in the dark to finish. One negative.The Salesper... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The representative who came first of all was pleasant and explained everything.The engineer who installed the battery worked extremely hard in atrocious weather and again was very pleasant. I do have... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

from point of sale to install was perfect but! after reporting a faulty panel was told part was in but the lad that installed battery did not know so big breakdown in communications 02/06/2026


Company details

  1. Solar Energy Company

Written by the company

A Scottish based Solar PV installer with extensive experience in the industry offering you the latest in home efficiency devices and renewable technology. Our bespoke services allow us to design the perfect energy and heating solution for your home. The ZestEnergy team provide you with a tailored experience, depending on your needs, budget and ambition.


Contact info

4.1

Great

TrustScore 4 out of 5

284 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

Asks customers to review

This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative

Replied to 100% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 24 hours

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.1

All reviews

(284)

137 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The representative who came first of…

The representative who came first of all was pleasant and explained everything.The engineer who installed the battery worked extremely hard in atrocious weather and again was very pleasant.
I do have a problem of the disposal of the old battery with no communication from you as to who and when it is to be picked up.

July 1, 2026
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Awful

Awful, connect charger took 40 quid x3 times and each time never charged gave up and went some were else. No reason for it to fail 3 times but yet they pre auth amount is £40

June 30, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Martin,

We're sorry to hear about your experience.

However, we believe this review has been posted on the wrong company's profile. Zest Energy Ltd (zestenergy.net) is a solar and renewable energy installer and does not operate a public EV charging network or process EV charging payments.

From the details you've provided regarding EV charging and £40 pre-authorisations, it appears your review relates to Zest (zest.uk.com), which is a separate, unrelated business.

If this is the case, we'd be grateful if you could remove this review from our profile and repost it on the correct company's Trustpilot page so they can investigate your experience and assist you.

Many thanks for your understanding.

Kind regards,

Zest Energy Ltd

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Horrendous customer care avoid at all costs

If you want weekly phone calls to chase a refund they should have issued within 14 days this is the company for you. Even though they have a legal obligation to refund within this timeframe I have had to call 5 times to chase £750 owed to my 83 yr old father in law. This is the second bad review I’ve written about this company and unfortunately my father in law trusted them a second time. I managed to intervene before the work started but now I’m spending my time chasing a refund. The person who deals with it was away and only back one day. I left it a week and called back, he’s gone away again and it seems he’s the only one person who deals with these things and cannot work remotely like many of us do. Avoid at all costs unless you enjoy horrendous customer care.

June 29, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that delays in processing a refund can be frustrating, and we apologise for the level of communication you experienced while this matter was being resolved.

The refund has now been processed and returned. We continually review our internal processes to improve both response times and customer communication, particularly during periods when key members of staff are unavailable.

We wish your father-in-law all the best and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Hopeless customer service.

Hopeless customer service.
They left me with all the pallets, boxes and unused equipment dumped at my house.
Couldn’t contact them when needed.
They changed dates on me and then didn’t bother to warn me when the scaffolding was being dropped off and erected.
I wish I hadn’t said yes.
Update 26/6/26
Despite your reply as of today I am still looking at my pile of rubbish left here at my home as no one has come to collect it.
Still very unimpressed!

June 22, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Alan,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience.

To provide some context, your installation was completed on the agreed date. Unfortunately, our installer was involved in an accident with a company vehicle and had to use alternative transport in order to avoid postponing your installation. As he had limited space available, he was unable to remove the remaining packaging and unused equipment on the day. This was explained to you at the time, and we subsequently contacted our supplier to assist with arranging collection.

With regard to the scaffolding, we use an independent scaffolding contractor and you were advised that scaffolding arrangements were being made ahead of the installation. As customers do not generally need to be present when scaffolding is erected, the contractor schedules these works directly as part of the installation process.

We appreciate that changes to schedules and unforeseen circumstances can be frustrating. However, we worked hard to ensure your installation proceeded as planned despite the vehicle incident and communicated the reasons why some materials remained temporarily on site.

We take all customer feedback seriously and will continue to review our processes to ensure the best possible customer experience.

Kind regards,

Zest Energy Ltd

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Zest energy scam not as quoted

Zest energy scam

I Just want to get this review back out there to stop others getting scammed by zest energy please read.

I got a quote from zest energy for a 5KW solar system with battery storage for £13000 they gave me the itemised bill but with very little detail to what parts were being installed. They convinced me the system I was getting was good so I went and payed deposit and the installation commenced after they completed the installation I took pictures of all the part numbers from the boxes of equipment they had installed and did some research to find that the total cost of parts was around £6000 so basically was 7 grand to install the system. Then a month later I had someone else come look at my system who pointed out to me that they had in-fact installed a 3.6KW inverter not a 5KW inverter so I complained to zest energy who came back to me saying my inverter they installed is more than capable for the job . It mite be but it’s not what I was sold and they refused to install the correct inverter that I was quoted for. Anyway a few month after all of this I got contacted by zest energy asking would I be interested in an air source heat pump I said I would be and they sent out the same sales rep as before to do a quote for me .When he arrived I told him about what they installed on my solar system and he said he was angry because they installed the wrong inverter and it makes him look bad . He said he couldn’t believe they had done that to me and said he would be contacting the office to say this was not what he sold me . After this conversation he just wanted to get out the door and said that he will do everything he can to speak with his supervisors to get this fixed / replaced but obviously I heard nothing back.

Also one last thing I asked after my install how much I would be to get 1 more battery added to my system and I was quoted £4000. I looked up internet and these batteries would cost to me on most internet websites around £1100 and to trade company like zest energy I would presume a lot less so they are looking around £3000 to install 2 wires from the battery to inverter which I have looked in to are pretty much plug and play very simple electrical installation

please read this and trust me avoid avoid avoid zest energy

June 10, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Kevin,

We note that this review appears to repeat concerns first raised in 2023 following your installation.

At the time, we thoroughly investigated the matters you raised regarding the specification and performance of your solar PV system. The inverter installed was selected as part of the system design and was fully compatible with the installed equipment and intended operation of the system. We did not find any evidence that the system had been mis-sold.

We also note that comparisons between retail component prices and the total contract value of a professionally installed renewable energy system do not reflect the full scope of works provided. Project costs include system design, installation labour, electrical testing and certification, scaffolding where required, commissioning, warranty support, insurance, administration, and ongoing customer support.

We appreciate that you remain dissatisfied with our conclusions. However, as this matter was reviewed extensively following your original complaint, our position remains unchanged.

Should you wish to discuss any current operational issues with your system, our customer support team remains available to assist.

Kind regards,
Zest Energy

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Poor clean up.

It would have been nice if you had cleaned up better.
Running a vacume over the work areas would have been good.
It would help if the floor boards were replaced correctly my inicial thought it was a problem with the carpet but it turned out one of the floor boards was not put back correctly. Luckly i have the skills to correct the problem.

June 1, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Keith,

Thank you for updating your review and for taking the time to provide additional feedback.
We're sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the clean-up and the floorboard reinstatement. We'd like to investigate this further with the installation team and review what happened.

Unfortunately, we're unable to identify your installation from your review. Please could you contact us directly with your address, postcode, or installation reference so that we can look into this properly and discuss the matter with you?

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

The Zest Energy Team

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Did the fitting well but left a lot of…

Did the fitting well but left a lot of rubbish and old equipment behind.

May 29, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Aulay,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We're pleased to hear that you were happy with the quality of the installation, but we're disappointed to learn that rubbish and old equipment were left behind following the work.

This is not the standard we expect from our installation teams, and we'd like to investigate what happened. Unfortunately, we're unable to identify your installation from your review alone, so please contact us directly with your address, postcode, or installation reference and we'll look into this for you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to resolving this matter.

Kind regards,
The Zest Energy Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

My problem is there after sales service…

My problem is there after sales service I am happy with my panels but the after sales service is terrible. I have phoned numerous time asking for help with my solar app problem, was told to watch a YouTube video which I did but did not solve the problem, I have asked to speak with there technical team but always an excuse -they are really busy or one team is off sick. I am still waiting for a call now in the fourth week of the problem.I am still phoning but just goes to answering machine I have left my contact details 🤞they have the time to reply to me.

May 22, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Mary,

Thank you for your feedback.

Having now identified your account and reviewed the history with our office, we can confirm that the issue relates to reconnecting your monitoring system following a change of internet router, rather than a fault with your solar installation itself.

Our team has provided printed instructions, step-by-step guidance, and links to video tutorials explaining how to pair the inverter to the new router. Archie has also been assisting you directly regarding this matter. We have additionally advised that we are happy to assist further in person when an engineer is next working in your area.

It is also worth noting that your system is now over five years old. Zest Energy did not originally install the solar system itself — we later retrofitted and upgraded the inverter in November 2021, and the system is currently operating correctly.

While we appreciate that app connectivity issues can be frustrating, we do feel reasonable after-sales support and guidance has been provided throughout.

Zest Energy

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look