Zest Energy Ltd Reviews 

284
•
TrustScore 4 out of 5

4.1

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Evaluating 139 reviews, reviewers had a great experience with this company. People frequently praise the staff and sales consultants for being exceptionally polite, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful when guiding new buyers through the entire journey. Consumers consistently note that the overall installation service runs very smoothly, with professional technicians working efficiently, carefully managing difficult conditions, and always keeping workspaces clean. However, some people mentioned occasional issues with communication, noticeable delays regarding follow-up services, and a lack of prompt coordination for equipment collection. A few reviewers also experienced incomplete setups, missing key components, or difficulties reaching customer support after the main installation was successfully finished.

What people talk about most

Staff

Clients share satisfaction with the staff, frequently noting that representatives and installers are... See more

Service

Customers consistently note positive experiences with service, highlighting efficient installations, polite... See more

Product

People report ambiguous experiences with product, as some customers are extremely satisfied with their solar... See more

User experience

Consumers find user experience to be positive, highlighting that everything goes smoothly and... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately the engineer’s van had a breakdown and he arrived 2 hours late. However once he arrived he was very efficient. The one thing which was annoying is that no mention had been made that the... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was pretty clear on most points as far as I recall. Chris and his colleague worked well in difficult weather conditions and worked late in the dark to finish. One negative.The Salesper... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The representative who came first of all was pleasant and explained everything.The engineer who installed the battery worked extremely hard in atrocious weather and again was very pleasant. I do have... See more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

from point of sale to install was perfect but! after reporting a faulty panel was told part was in but the lad that installed battery did not know so big breakdown in communications 02/06/2026


Company details

  1. Solar Energy Company

Written by the company

A Scottish based Solar PV installer with extensive experience in the industry offering you the latest in home efficiency devices and renewable technology. Our bespoke services allow us to design the perfect energy and heating solution for your home. The ZestEnergy team provide you with a tailored experience, depending on your needs, budget and ambition.


Contact info

4.1

Great

TrustScore 4 out of 5

284 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

Asks customers to review

This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative

Replied to 100% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 24 hours

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.1

All reviews

(284)

137 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Bought a house with solar panels

Bought a house with solar panels, battery, and battery inverter. The sellers told us that the battery had never worked, even though it was 5 years into a 10 year warranty from Zest. Asked Zest to collect battery and inverter which I had removed from the house. They wanted to charge me for an engineer's visit..
Contacted the original manufacturer of the equipment and they happily arranged collection free of charge.

August 20, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

We are extremely disappointed by this review because it presents a fundamentally misleading account of what actually happened.

Firstly, you were not Zest Energy’s original customer. You purchased a property in which we had previously installed a battery system for the former owner.

By the time you contacted us, you had already had the battery and inverter removed from the installation. You then asked Zest to become involved with equipment which was no longer installed. We advised that an engineer attending your property would be chargeable. We make absolutely no apology for that. Engineers’ time, travel and attendance have a cost, and there was no reasonable basis for expecting Zest to provide this service free of charge.

Your review then suggests that the manufacturer somehow provided a service which Zest was unwilling to provide because they “happily arranged collection free of charge”. That comparison is simply not valid.

Battery manufacturers have arrangements in place for the collection and disposal of their own battery products. The manufacturer arranging collection of its equipment is therefore entirely different from asking an independent installer to send an engineer to your property free of charge. Presenting the two as equivalent gives readers a very misleading impression of what occurred.

We must also correct the statement that the system was “5 years into a 10 year warranty from Zest”. A manufacturer’s product warranty and an installer’s workmanship obligations are not the same thing. The existence of a product warranty does not mean that Zest is obliged to provide unlimited free engineer visits for ten years, irrespective of the circumstances or subsequent ownership of the property.

Ultimately, you purchased a property containing equipment originally installed for somebody else, subsequently had that equipment removed, and then objected when Zest advised that sending an engineer to deal with the situation would be chargeable. You then contacted the manufacturer, who exercised its own arrangements for collecting its product.

That does not represent a failure by Zest Energy, and we strongly reject the suggestion that it does.

We are always prepared to accept fair criticism where we have fallen short. However, we do not believe a one-star review based on a comparison between two entirely different services is either fair or an accurate representation of the service provided by Zest Energy.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Really pleased with my experience.

Really pleased with my experience with Zest energy. Nick explained everything clearly from the start with no pressure and all my questions were answered properly. The whole process was straightforward and professional. Very impressed with returns from selling to the grid to! Would happily recommend Zest Energy to anyone considering solar and battery storage.

August 25, 2026
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Review submitted on 22/06/26 (update)

Review submitted on 22/06/26. This is an update regarding the performance of the battery storage system fitted. Prior to the installation I had a Puredrive system. Going by the smart meter monitor, with the Puredrive I was using £3 - £4 worth of electricity per day. With new Sigen system electricity used per day has fallen to approximately £1 per day. Very happy!



August 27, 2026
Unprompted review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

25 August 2026 Faulty component which…

25 August 2026 Faulty component which has not been replaced. Battery not working. would not recommend Zest to my worst enemy

April 28, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Alistair,

We’re sorry to read this review.

Unfortunately, from the information provided here we’re unable to identify the installation or establish what component you are referring to, when the issue was reported, or its current status.

We take faults with installed equipment seriously, but we would like the opportunity to establish the facts before commenting on the circumstances publicly.

Please contact us at info@zestenergy.net with your address and details of the issue so that we can review the history of the installation and respond appropriately.

Kind regards,
Zest Energy

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

ZEST Energy review

The initial visit was excellent. I felt that all my options were carefully explained and I wasn't overwhelmed with technical jargon. The installation by an independent contractor went really well.
It took a while for the old equipment to be collected and I'm still waiting for the MCS certificate, 19 days after installation. This is delaying my ability to apply for a feed-in tariff, which is annoying!

August 3, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Christine,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments about both the consultation and the installation.

Just to clarify one point, Zest Energy did not install your original system, although we appreciate that the removal and collection of the old equipment formed part of the arrangements surrounding your new installation.

We’re sorry that the post-installation paperwork has taken longer than expected. We appreciate that the outstanding MCS certificate is important in allowing you to progress your export tariff application, and we will ensure this is chased as a priority.

We’re pleased that you were happy with the advice you received and with the installation itself, and hopefully we can get the remaining paperwork resolved quickly for you.

Kind regards,

Zest Energy

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Communication could be a bit better

While the installation was OK, dealing with this company afterwards has been terrible. The so-called "Health Check" this year was definitely just an opportunity for them to try to upsell batteries to us. I even asked during the initial call if this was a sales attempt and was told no.

The last straw leading to this review was me asking to get some documentation from them in order to try signing up for Octopus Energy's export offering that doesn't require MCS certification (as Zest wasn't certified during out install) only to be told by Zest they didn't install our solar PV and I should contact the original installer. Absolutely mind-blowing terrible service and patently false as I have the original email chain with them from 2022.

Edit 02-09-2026 - To their credit, they have actually resolved my issues now so have increased their star rating

August 17, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Thank you for your review, Andrew.

Having investigated this further, we have now identified the installation you are referring to. The reason our team was initially unable to locate it is that the installation and customer record are held under a different name, not Andrew Foster. This unfortunately resulted in you being incorrectly advised that we had not carried out the original installation. We apologise for that confusion and will deal with your outstanding request for the relevant installation documentation directly.

We do, however, need to correct a significant factual inaccuracy in your review.

**Zest Energy Ltd has never been associated with zestenergy.com.** It is not, and has never been, the same company as Zest Energy Ltd. We have not switched Trustpilot profiles to avoid negative reviews, and the suggestion that we have done so is entirely incorrect.

Our website is **zestenergy.net**, and we would ask that you amend your review to remove the inaccurate claim linking our company with zestenergy.com.

With regard to your installation documentation, now that we have correctly identified the customer record, we will address this with you directly.

Zest Energy Ltd

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

All was great to start with

All was great to start with. The salesman came out and we talked about what I wanted. We discussed my options. I decided to go ahead with the installation of the solar panels,a date was agreed and everything went well with the installation. Then they were meant to come out and talk me through the system and check everything was OK, as I had to work the day of the installation. The salesman and I arrange another day, but he never turned up and I haven't been able to get hold of him since

June 12, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Darren,

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that you were happy with the initial consultation and that everything went well with your solar installation.

We’re sorry to hear that you’ve experienced difficulty getting in touch with your salesperson. Having reviewed our records, however, we cannot see that a follow-up appointment was arranged following the installation.

Our sales team are field-based and spend much of their working day attending customer appointments, so they are not always available to answer calls. For any post-installation queries or assistance with your system, our office team are the best point of contact and are always happy to help.

Please contact us on 0131 467 3257 or info@zestenergy.net, and a member of the team will be happy to assist you with any questions you have regarding your system.

Kind regards,
Zest Energy

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Service and Product

Excellent service, from sales consultant, installation and after services everyone has been friendly, professional and very helpful.

The whole process was very quick and up and running with in a week. Very good service.

The solar panels are now providing all of my electricity and I am even exporting to the grid.

I can't recommend Zest Energy enough, fantastic service.

August 5, 2026
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great communication with the team

Great communication with the team, both during and after installation. Personalised service to meet our needs. Great product and competitive price. They went that extra mile to enable a smooth export with power company.
Highly recommend this team.

August 4, 2026
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, Efficient, Helpful and Transparency in dealings.

Sales rep was friendly and patient.
Delivery arrived at 9.30am again very polite and efficient. Roofer and electrician arrived 9.45am.
Job completed in 6 hours.
Very little disruption to our day.
Archie in office will help get us up and running as a supplier.
Inverter and battery were installed inside the house which was not preplanned however all worked out without much disruption. We will recommend Zest that our friends.

August 10, 2026
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience

I couldn't be happier with the whole experience from start to finish. The sales rep was brilliant – there were absolutely no pushy sales tactics, just honest advice and plenty of time to answer all my questions. They really listened to what I wanted and customised the system to suit my home's energy needs rather than trying to sell me something I didn't need.

The installation team were fantastic as well. They kept me updated throughout the process, communication was excellent, and everything was completed to a really high standard. They even set up all the apps and monitoring for me before they left, making it really easy to start using the system.

The after-sales support has been just as impressive. Around three months after the installation I had a query involving my utility company, and they responded quickly and helped get everything sorted without any hassle.

Overall, it's been a great experience from beginning to end. I'd happily recommend them to anyone thinking about getting solar installed.

April 3, 2026
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Zest are great would recommend any day!!

Have used zest before to fit my solar panels
So increasing my battery storage it was a no brainer to return to zest
Great customer service.
Sales guy knew his stuff friendly
No real pressure but do push for a quick decision..Quick turnaround and great installers knew their stuff and sorted a few issues promptly

July 10, 2026
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Installation good leaving the house…

Installation good leaving the house door wide open most of the afternoon was pathetic and after sale information still waiting

July 16, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Thank you for your review.

We're pleased to hear that you were happy with the quality of the installation itself. However, we're sorry to read your comments regarding the front door being left open during the installation. That is not the standard we expect from our installation teams, and we will raise this with those involved.

With regard to your after-sales information, your system was commissioned on 16 July. In line with industry standards, the handover pack is typically issued within two weeks of commissioning, and we are pleased to confirm that your handover pack was sent two days ago, well within that timeframe.

We have also notified your Distribution Network Operator (DNO) of the installation. The only outstanding item is the export MPAN, which is issued by your electricity network operator and is unfortunately outside our control. Once this has been allocated, we will be happy to assist you with changing to the most appropriate electricity tariff so that you can maximise the benefits of your new system.

We appreciate your feedback and will ensure your comments regarding site security are addressed with our installation team.

Kind regards,
Zest Energy Ltd

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Too many unwanted calls

A number of years ago we had this company do some work for us. We were quite satisfied at the time with what they actually did. Ever since, though, we have received frequent, unwanted calls trying to sell us things we don't want. They have repeatedly ignored my requests to take our number off of their lists and not phone again. Even when I block their number, they change to using a different number.

July 16, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Ian,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have reviewed our records and do not recognise the sequence of events described in your review.

We have not made any marketing calls to you this year. The call made today was a courtesy call to offer existing customers a complimentary health check of their system and was not a sales call.

We also have no record of repeatedly contacting you after requests to stop or of changing telephone numbers to circumvent call blocking. Those allegations are inconsistent with our records and with the way we conduct our business.

We have nevertheless updated your record to ensure that you receive no further telephone contact from us.

We would ask that you reconsider the wording of your review so that it accurately reflects the nature of the contact you received.

Kind regards,

Zest Energy

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Fraudulent quote and withheld deposit

My father was provided with a highly misleading quote for a new battery to upgrade from 6kWh battery to a 9kWh and retaining his existing solar panels. The quote showed projected net savings over 20 years of over £19,000. But the savings were based on a house that had no solar or battery storage available to them when Zest had installed a the existing system at my fathers property just 4 years earlier. It was only by luck that I was able to review the quote before installation took place and inform my father that this was not worth the paper it was written on.

Subsequently it has taken Zest approximately 50 days to refund my father his deposit, and only after the threat of legal action. The guidelines they say that they work to states that refunds must be paid within 14 days.

July 15, 2026
Unprompted review
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry that your father was dissatisfied with his experience and we acknowledge that the refund took longer than it should have. The deposit has since been refunded in full and we apologised for the administrative error that contributed to the delay.

However, we do not accept your comments regarding the quotation. The proposal was produced using OpenSolar, an industry-standard design platform that includes dedicated functionality for retrofit systems and clearly sets out the assumptions and calculations used to produce the projected figures. These assumptions are available within the proposal for the customer to review before making any decision.

We reject any suggestion that the proposal was intentionally misleading or that Zest Energy acted improperly. No installation took place and your father exercised his right to cancel before any work commenced.

We always welcome constructive feedback and remain committed to providing accurate information and a professional service to all of our customers.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible experience

Terrible experience. I was stupid enough to give this company a second chance. What a mistake
The company director is arrogant and self entitled. Would not recommend this company to anyone
The guy who did the installation was a professional guy.

July 7, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed by your comments, particularly as they do not reflect what actually occurred.

The installation itself was completed professionally, which you acknowledge in your review, and we appreciate your comments regarding our installer.

The issue arose because you refused to make the final payment in accordance with our agreed terms and conditions, stating that you wished to wait until you had received access to the monitoring app. Although the only problem was that the registration had initially been completed using yahoo.com instead of yahoo.co.uk, we advised you that this was a minor administrative issue that would be corrected. We also confirmed that we were happy to wait for payment until your app access had been resolved, despite payment already being due under our contract.

Given those circumstances, we believe your comments about our conduct are unfair and do not accurately represent the way this matter was handled. We made every effort to resolve a straightforward issue amicably and without dispute.

We remain available to assist if you require any further support with your system.

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I was told the new battery would make…

I was told the new battery would make my electricity cheaper - since the new batter was installed my electricity has doubled, even quadrupled yesterday so what I was promised has not been delivered . This was an error made by the Company which I picked up on. This work should have been 2nd checked by a Supervisor/Inspector and should not have been picked up by me. We were also advised to change to a specific Tariff which corresponds with the new Battery. My Supplier has advised me this Tariff is Blocked and not open to Customers due to Volatility so that raises the question has this been a complete waste of £7,700. In my line of work if I make a mistake that is costly to the Customer/Client then there are rules in place which states Compensation must be paid by the Company to the Client/Customer ..

June 25, 2026
Zest Energy Ltd logo

Reply from Zest Energy Ltd

Hi Laura,

We're sorry to read your review.

Following your recent contact with us, we've identified that the CT clamp requires adjustment. This component measures the flow of electricity through your property and is essential for the battery to operate correctly. An engineer has already been arranged to attend within the next couple of days to make this adjustment.

Until this work has been completed, it isn't possible to assess the system's performance or the savings it is capable of delivering. We therefore feel it would be premature to conclude that the battery has not delivered the expected benefits.

We remain committed to resolving this as quickly as possible and look forward to getting everything operating as intended. Once the adjustment has been made, we'll be happy to review the system's performance with you.

Zest Energy

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look