YMCAfit Reviews 

409
•
TrustScore 4.5 out of 5

4.4

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Evaluating 111 reviews, reviewers overwhelmingly had a great experience with this company. Customers frequently praise the professional instructors for being extremely supportive, knowledgeable, and genuinely patient during all training sessions. People also find the overall course content thoroughly engaging, exceptionally well-structured, and surprisingly easy to follow along. However, some customers also noted occasional issues with difficult online learning platforms and delayed communication regarding completion certificates. A few reviewers felt that administrative support was rather inconsistent and the heavy workload required outside of class was quite demanding. Others mentioned that getting prompt answers from the customer service team required extra effort during their studies.

What people talk about most

Staff

Consumers find staff to be positive, highlighting that tutors are incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and... See more

User experience

Reviewers mention positive feedback about user experience, highlighting how course content is easy to follow... See more

Service

Clients share positive opinions on service, frequently praising the brilliant courses, professional... See more

Customer service

Users describe ambiguous interactions with customer service, noting that while some reviewers experienced... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

My YMCA expérience was made very positive primarily due to the superb Tutor Abbee Cole. The face to face days and her support justified the time and cost I invested. I would however suggest the actu... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I had an amazing time on this course. It really changed the way I practice yoga and I learnt so much! My teacher Annie was so supportive and patient and I had full confidence in her from the moment... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

YMCA Fit is an incredible organisation! They pride themselves in supporting students to becoming qualified trainers. I felt I always had the support of the teachers and they created a beautiful... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The course tutors and content were fabulous. I would say the initial ‘sales’ call was a little misleading . I was not informed that I wouldn’t be issued my certificate until the student loan was fully... See more

Company replied


Company details

  1. Career and Education Provider

Written by the company

Personal trainer & fitness instructor courses run across UK. REPS & CIMSPA points. UK's only STOTT PILATES® Licensed Training Centre. Flexible learning.


Contact info

4.4

Excellent

TrustScore 4.5 out of 5

409 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

No recent history of asking for reviews

This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative

Replied to 100% of negative reviews

Typically replies within 2 weeks

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.4

All reviews

(409)

99 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

exceptional yoga course teachers

It has been such an absolute privilege to be taught by David and Clare for my L3 yoga course. They are incredibly genuine, caring and their subject knowledge is outstanding. They go above and beyond to help you. They get to know you personally and guide you through the course step by step. They expect high standards, but they give you all the help to reach them. Liz was one of my assessors and she was also so kind and just put me at ease straightaway. I finish this course feeling confident that I have strong foundation from which to grow as a teacher. I did the online course and I felt it is excellent value for money.

November 4, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We are delighted to hear that David, Clare, and Liz made a meaningful impact on your L3 yoga training experience. We take great pride in offering a supportive and high-standard learning environment, and it’s rewarding to know that their expertise, genuine care, and personalised guidance provided you with a strong foundation and confidence as a teacher. We’re also pleased that you found the online course format valuable and effective. Wishing you every success as you continue to grow in your teaching journey.
Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

I have been in the United Kingdom for…

I have been in the United Kingdom for about 15 years and have never left a bad review on any company or business. but I am really and truly disappointed by this company. Long story short. I filled in the very first form online to get some prices, and then ever since i was contacted by their team almost three times a week, either by call or email to get me to sign up for the course.I was told about how amazing this course is and should sign up as soon as possible before all the spaces are gone. once I finally found out about my plans for early 2025, I finally signed up for my PT course and sorted out student lawn, everything was ready and set up for me to start the course on the 2nd of November until I received an email on the beginning of this month and was told that the course is cancelled without giving any reason. I feel like I have been properly let down. I booked my holidays for March 2025 I already found and spoke to the gym that I would like to work at in Brighton I was looking forward to becoming a pt and starting a whole new life by next year until I was let down. very disappointed after being chased for four months by the YMCA team to sign up and being let down all of a sudden. now everything has to be postponed for another year, and all my plans are messed up. once again, I strongly dislike leaving bad reviews. please, to whoever is ready, this loom for any other course but this one as I am right now.

kind regard
Morteza Faraji

October 1, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello
Thank you for your feedback. Our sales team follows strict consent guidelines and respects boundaries, and we apologise if it felt otherwise, as we do not condone aggressive selling techniques.

In regard to course cancellations, please understand that these occur only when enrollment numbers are insufficient to make the course financially viable. As a charity, we must ensure courses are self-sustaining to continue serving our community effectively. In such rare cases, we provide a minimum of 4 weeks' notice and always offer an alternative course if available.

We appreciate your understanding, and please don’t hesitate to reach out as we are committed to finding a solution that works for you.

Best regards
YMCAfit Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely usable or the information is…

Extremely usable or the information is relevant. Real good face to face experience in the time where everything is online. Recommend this course to a person trainers martial artists and fitness professionals.

September 3, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that your time studying with YMCAFit exceeded your expectations and that you found the support you needed.

Best regards
YMCAfit Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Miss sold


I was lead to believe that all the work would take place in the classroom environment and that I would not need to use a computer generated system.
I am an older student and hoped that it would be easy to gain my certificates in such a way only to find that the amount of unnecessary out of class room work was/is so extensive that I have not been able to complete it.

I believe that some of the modules are not even relevant and are actually none of YMCA's business, Business study etc.

I do not have the energy really to complain but I have definitely waisted a lot of my time and money. I expected far more communication and in talking to the other students in my group am not alone on finding this overly difficult and having to chase YMCA for any advise/help/support.

I TRULY BELIEVE THAT I WAS MISS SOLD.

November 6, 2023
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback, and we sincerely apologise for any confusion regarding the course format and content. We aim to be transparent about our course structure, the units and content are detailed on our website and as a training provider, we are required to adhere to the established syllabus to ensure all criteria are met.

We understand how challenging this might be for those less familiar with computer-based learning. However, as part of our commitment to sustainability, we have moved our course resources online.

Please let us know if there’s any additional support we can offer to help you acheive your qualification, as we value your experience with us and appreciate the opportunity to make things right.

Best regards
YMCAfit Team.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great place to study

While I appreciate there are a lot of negative reviews out there, fortunately for me I didn't experience the negativity outlined in those reviews.

My experience was largely positive. The trainers were enthusiastic, energetic and knowledgeable.
Dan, Trevor and James were fantastic. Different styles but all very effective. I liked that we weren't stuck in a class reading theory. It was very interactive and it kept me engaged.
Was the course perfectly organised? No, but everyone involved seemed to be sincerely trying their best and for me, that's more important. It was a little rough around the edges but I'm personally ok with that.
The wonderful Desrin was always available over message to answer every single one of my queries which she did superbly.
I can see myself returning here for future qualifications.

September 3, 2023
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! We're thrilled to hear that you found the course engaging and that our trainers made a lasting impression on you. We believe that hands-on learning is key to keeping our students engaged, and we're glad you enjoyed the interactive approach. It's also wonderful to know that Desrin was able to assist you effectively, she's a valued member of our team.

We appreciate your understanding that while we strive for perfection, our genuine effort to provide a meaningful learning experience is what matters most. We're excited to welcome you back for future qualifications and continue supporting your educational journey. Thanks again for your thoughtful review!

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Yoga practitioner Level 3 Course

I would like to say that YMCA provided me the best studying experience possible. I am highly recommending studying there for anyone but especially for all the people wanting to become qualified in a fitness industry but are a bit afraid of the fact that English is not their first language. Yes..Anatomy can be hard and assignments are a lot of work but you will get an immense support from your assign teacher and when the practical is over you will get a massive support from a Student Support Team to help you understand and accomplish all the assignments.
Do not hesitate!
I learnt and lot and grow a lot.
And achieved a change in a career that I was dreaming of.
My advice when choosing your course do not go for only online option - half practical with a real teacher and other students and half online for all the theory is much better and give you better understanding and confidence in the future.
Long story short my special thank you to amazing and experienced teacher Annie, all Accessors checking my work and incredible kind lady that was explaining me all the online assignments and gave me lots of mental support to keep pushing from student support Clare.
Thank you very much!
If I would decide to do any other qualifications in the future I would definitely come back. Thank you. 🙏

August 30, 2023
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello.

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that your time studying with YMCAFit exceeded your expectations and that you found the support you needed. We understand that tackling subjects like Anatomy and completing assignments can be challenging, but it’s fantastic to know that our dedicated team was there to assist you every step of the way.

Your kind words about Annie, Clare, and the rest of the team mean a lot to us, and we’re glad that the combination of practical and online learning worked well for you. It’s always our goal to provide a well-rounded educational experience that not only builds knowledge but also confidence.

We're honoured that you achieved the career change you were dreaming of and that you would choose YMCAFit again for future qualifications. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and for being part of our community. Wishing you continued success in your fitness career!

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Beware of discount codes contrary to other emails they send

I have recently have enrolled on a PT course with YMCAfit (27/08/2024).

On 23/08/2024 i recevied an email with a 10% discount on all courses (which had an 11 day expiry), which you just had to let your advisor know. i mentioned this to the advisor & they advised this discount off expired 22 days ago. so in the space of just over 72 hours, you had 11 days to claim(?) a 10% discount to being 22 days past it. which leaves a bit of a bitter/sour taste in the mouth figuratively speaking.

August 27, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, and we sincerely apologise for the confusion regarding the discount. We understand how frustrating this situation must be, and we'd like to investigate it further to ensure it doesn’t happen again. Could you please contact us directly at ymcafit.bookings@ymca.co.uk? Our team will look into this issue and work with you to find a resolution. We value your experience with us and appreciate the opportunity to make things right.

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I think Roger is the best teacher I’ve…

I think Roger is the best teacher I’ve ever had such an inspiring outlook on life and optimistic informative attitude. I also loved being taught padwork. Aptem was very challenging though the online aspect needs to be revised with a new system. It is outdated.

August 5, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with Roger. His inspiring outlook and optimistic, informative attitude are qualities we deeply value in our instructors. We're glad you enjoyed the Padwork sessions as well!

We also appreciate your honest input regarding Aptem. We strive to provide the best learning experience possible, and your feedback about the online system is invaluable.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Training is great, Support is awful!

If the student services/admin/grading team were on point this could easily be a 5-star review. The training was brilliant, engaging and energetic. The tutors were helpful and knowledgeable. Roger in particular provided great learning sessions.

Once the face-to-face training was over and things moved on to the coursework and online workbooks, this is where the course started to take a nosedive for the worse. As a neurodivergent person (Documents were provided to student services on enrolment) I was not offered any support past the face-to-face sessions and extra time for exams. I was simply, left to get on with things in my own time with no accountability or check-ins.

For context, I paid for the course in March 2023 to start in June 2023. I took an extra day off work to finish a bunch of online workbooks over the Easter holiday 2024 to find that my online account had been deactivated. All my work was gone. I called in a panic to be told that my year had expired and that I would have to pay again. I explained that I didn't start my course until June so thought I had until June to finish. I even had a document that said my start date was June 10th. After much unnecessary stress and back and forth via email and telephone, My account was eventually reactivated and I was given a month's extension after the time I had put aside to do the work was wasted. I was told someone would be in touch to offer me some additional support. I never got the call, but I managed to complete all my online workbooks and submit both case studies by the 19th and 21st of May. I waited for my grade but had no update on my online account so called after three weeks on the 10th June to know if I'd passed as I was worried that after the 10th of July, my course would expire if I had to resubmit for any referrals. They had my grades for both pieces of coursework and sent them to me after the phone call. I was upset to find out that one had been marked a week after my submission with a referral and recommended resubmission date which gave me two weeks to complete. That resubmission day was for the day after I had called to ask if my grades were available. So they had sat on my grade for two weeks. Again frustrated, I called in a panic to say I had to work and couldn't possibly hand in the resubmission tomorrow. They said not to worry and to do it when I could. I resubmitted the piece that weekend, which was the 16th of June. I called after two weeks on the 1st of July to see if my grade was ready and was asked to wait another two weeks. I called again on the 15th of July and was asked to call again at the end of the week. So I called again on the 19th of July and they said they would call me on Monday. They didn't, so I gave them an extra day and called again on Tuesday the 23rd of July and was told they would escalate it. I called again on the 30th of July and they said they would escalate it again. I called again just now the 2nd of August, and have been told that they will request someone else to mark it as both escalations have not been actioned. How much longer do I need to wait, please? I'm bored of chasing now so have resorted to writing this lengthy complaint in the vain hope that it might provoke some faster action!

I don't enjoy complaining but the communication toward the end has been unacceptable. The lack of consideration and support after disclosing from the beginning that I am neurodivergent has been almost non-existent past the exam provisions. To add insult to injury your promotions team seem to be really on point calling and emailing regularly to offer deals for more courses. If all the services were as good as your promo and in-person training, I might actually be tempted.

August 2, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,

Thank you for reaching out to us with your concerns.

We want to confirm that we have received your complaint and are currently reviewing the issues you have brought to our attention. Our team is conducting a thorough investigation and will get in touch with you once this process is complete.

We take customer feedback seriously and are committed to improving our services.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

ETM-

ETM-
I did the online course.
The information and the course structure was very useful and I feel very confident to run my own session. Hannah our tutor was very useful and gave clear information and feedback throughout the course.
However I definitely would not do it again online. And there also isn’t many course in person up north where I am located. So I probably will not complete any more qualification’s through YMCA. Aptem was very difficult to use, very complicated, uploading videos took hours and a lot of storage on my phone. There’s a LOT of homework which I was not made aware off. So having a full time job working 9-8:30 most days, would not work well with this course.
Other than that. It was brilliant and I am really looking forwards to hopefully teaching my own lessons.

May 11, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Paige,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you found the course structure and information useful, and that Hannah's guidance was clear and helpful. It's wonderful to know you feel confident to run your own sessions!
We’re sorry to hear that the online format did not meet your expectations. We understand the challenges of balancing a full-time job with coursework, and the complexity of using Aptem. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will be reviewing these aspects to improve the experience for future learners.
Thank you for your honesty and for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know you’re looking forward to teaching, and we wish you the very best in your future endeavours.
Kind regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Great course, very compact!

The Tutor was great and very knowledgeable. There was LOADS to learn and the pace was quick, so could be tricky to fit in around work and kids etc but I got there in the end and now feel much more confident about planning and teaching ETM classes.

June 8, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Nicola,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you found the tutor knowledgeable and the course content thorough. We understand that balancing the pace of the course with work and family can be challenging, so we greatly appreciate your commitment. It's fantastic to know that you're now more confident in planning and teaching ETM classes. Congratulations on your achievement!
Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Course Tutor and the plan.

June 8, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you found the course tutor and the course plan to be beneficial.
Thank you once again for your review and for choosing YMCAFit for your training needs.
Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Advanced Diploma in Personal Training

I completed the course with 24 days of face-to-face tuition at the Central YMCA Club in London. This is an excellent and challenging course, comprising pre-work, the on-site learning, practicals and assessments, homework, and then two follow-up case studies. Our tutor was excellent. There's a great range of facilities at this venue. Behind the scenes Student Support help answer any questions to keep your learning plan on track. Highly recommended training provider, course and qualifications! Thanks YMCAfit.

January 8, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Steve,
Thank you so much for your detailed and positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you found the course both excellent and challenging, and that you appreciated the comprehensive nature of the training, including the pre-work, on-site learning, practicals, assessments, homework, and follow-up case studies.

It's wonderful to know that our tutor and Student Support team were able to meet your expectations and help keep your learning plan on track. We're also glad you enjoyed the range of facilities at the Central YMCA Club in London.

Your recommendation means a lot to us. Thanks again for choosing YMCAFit for your training and qualifications!

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

The subject was the teach of Core Stability

The subject was the teach of Core Stability sessions. The instructor ran a very well structured one day course. His enthusiasm was infectious and his knowledge and experience considerable - it showed. I felt well prepared to plan and deliver Core Stability training sessions. Many practical ideas were provided to develop Classes with several different emphasis to keep participants always engaged.

The negative was the course administration which YMCAfit seem to have outsourced to an organisation called Aptem. Frankly a nightmare to deal with from registration (they did not send me the correct pass to get into the venue for the course, if I were not known to the venue I would have been denied access) to delivery of course completion certificate which I had to demand at least three times.

January 7, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Richard,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your Core Stability sessions course. We're delighted to hear that you found the instructor's enthusiasm, knowledge, and experience impressive and that the course structure left you feeling well-prepared to deliver engaging and effective Core Stability training sessions. It's great to know that the practical ideas provided will help you keep your classes dynamic and interesting for participants.

We sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered with the course administration. We understand how frustrating it must have been to deal with the registration problems and the delays in receiving your course completion certificate. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will address these concerns to improve the process for future participants.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your patience. We hope to provide a smoother experience next time.

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

I’m a candidate on a new course…

I’m a candidate on a new course structure based on an on-line and face to face set up. At first I thought I’d signed up for the wrong course as it starts fast and continues at an high intensity. I’m getting to grips with that now but have the advantage of not being at work. I think I would struggle trying to keep up and work. The trainers are really good, helpful and certainly know all about being a PT. I would say the course structure and content could be improved. Lack of synergy between the Teams and Suada modules, names not matching and difficult to navigate and decide on what content goes with what in some instances. I think the course creators need to go through the stages as a first timer and they will then be able to see the gaps. Face to face time was great, would have liked a little more of this.

May 7, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Tony,
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on our new course structure. We're glad to hear that you found the trainers knowledgeable and helpful, and that the face-to-face sessions were beneficial.

We appreciate your honesty regarding the challenges you faced with the intensity of the course and the online modules. Your comments about the lack of synergy between Teams and Suada modules, as well as the navigation issues, are invaluable. We will review the course structure and content to address these gaps and make it more cohesive and user-friendly.

We also note your desire for more face-to-face time and will consider this in future course planning.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback. We are committed to continuous improvement and ensuring a better experience for all our participants.

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

New PT course

I am part of a new (developmental) blended personal trainer diploma course. Having done a face to face Ymca PT course over 20 years ago, I can say that the course covers way more material and appears to have been tuned to creating a more holistic trainer. I'm nearly halfway and it has been tough to meet the deadlines causing me to rush and make stupid mistakes.
However, the tutors are excellent and make themselves available to support. I really enjoyed the face to face gym instructor days and look forward to the PT days too. YMCA central gym is a great venue. Timing is tight, but it suited my availability and timescales perfectly and I'm looking forwards to setting up as a freelance trainer in the Autumn.

May 3, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Geoff,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our new Digital Level 3 Diploma in Gym Instructing and Personal Training course. We're delighted to hear that you find the course comprehensive and holistic, especially compared to your experience with our face-to-face course over 20 years ago. It's great to know that the material is valuable and aligns with your goals.

We understand that meeting deadlines can be challenging and appreciate your perseverance. It's wonderful to hear that our tutors have been supportive and that you've enjoyed the face-to-face gym instructor days at YMCA Central. We're glad the timing of the course has suited your schedule well.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable as we continue to develop and refine our programs. We wish you all the best as you look forward to setting up as a freelance trainer in the autumn.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful review.

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Bad experience overall like other bad…

Bad experience overall like other bad reviews. Also worst thing is both me and my exam partner got failed because the examiner is very unprofessional and not look at us the whole time while we have been guaranteed by instructors throughout the course that we keep doing what we do, we will pass the exams. which all other members of our class did pass but not us both just because we had a different instructor and she was acting very unprofessional(no eye contact/ look away the whole time) and not pay attention to what we have to say etc. That gave me a trauma and never step back to finish my course. I still remember the exact date (21st Jan 2020) which i can't show here. Recently, i finish my personal training course with a different course provider which is much better support throughout and examiner even try their best to calm your nerves.

April 19, 2023
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello,
Unfortunately, we cannot provide a direct response to this as the review is anonymous. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss further and can be reached on ymcafit.studentsupport@ymca.co.uk
Best regards,
YMCAFit

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very convincing

Customer service was very convincing! It took me over 1 year to save for a £250 deposit. They have taken my money very fast, made many promises and have let me down on every single front other than the initial call backs for interest. Promised me 2 months of access before course starts in May 2024 and nothing. Other than a Relax page on their main page for course access. Even messaged the tutor who replied and said within 1 day it will can be resolved after my response and we'll the date is much further now and still nothin. Customer service although am number 1 most times times, everytime I get we are to busy and put the phone down. Am done. I want my money back and nothin from this pointless company. Don't do it. Terrible.

April 1, 2024
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I completed a Personal Trainer course…

I completed a Personal Trainer course recently in London and the tutors - Hannah, Roger, Trevor (and others who assessed me) were all brilliant. All had great teaching styles and a real depth of expertise and I learnt a great deal in a very supportive environment. Thank you

March 7, 2024
Unprompted review
YMCAfit logo

Reply from YMCAfit

Hello Matthew,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with our Personal Trainer course in London. It's fantastic to know that our tutors, Hannah, Roger, Trevor, and others, provided you with excellent teaching and support. We're glad you found their expertise and teaching styles effective and that you were able to learn a great deal in a supportive environment.

Thank you for choosing YMCAFit for your training, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavours as a personal trainer!

Best regards,
The YMCAFit Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

YMCA have taken away my dream of…

After signing up for this yoga course I have been told over the phone by the Enrolment Team that I would have access to the online materials right after and that I could have requested the manual over the phone if I wanted to with Student Support.
Looks like the manuals have been discontinued for a year and to be honest I would have much rather been told that by the Enrolment Team before paying for this course.
As part of the practical assessment, we were required to produce a 60-hour reflective journal that reflects our development through the learning programme.
We were also required to write 3 session plans for a mixed ability class of approximately 1 hour. These are for a week 1 class a week 5 class and a week 10 class.
We also had to plan a 10-week progressive plan which we were being verbally assessed on.
We were also required to complete 4 ‘Philosophy and Fundamentals of Yoga’ worksheets of a maximum of 12000 words each.
And yet, all this with no support.
The student support team should be available from 9 to 5pm from Monday to Friday but they are not, I have tried to call them for weeks to no avail, the only team you can ever get in touch is the Enrolment Team and they present everything so nicely but once you paid for any course you're left on your own.
In regards to the worksheets above, the information given in class is completely different that the information we receive over the phone with Student Support (when once in a blue moon you managed to talk to someone) which makes you amend the paperwork over and over again as you are not given the same suggestions on how to do it each time.
I won't even mention how complex this paperworks are but to amend them seven times as I have done it over the course of two months for asking different people in Student Support for advice.
The day of the practical exam comes and we were required to bring two participants with us to take part in the practical session otherwise we were going to be referred.
The odd thing is that we had to participate to the class of a student from last year that we didn't even know and who didn't even bother to bring participants because why would he and he was allowed to do the assessment in the first place while we all lived in fear like in the communist era that we were going to be dismissed if we were not bringing participants.
No one asked us if we wanted to participate.
I managed to pass the practical assessment and the Week 10 session planning and was referred to on the week 1 and 5 as the images didn't match the teaching points.
I submitted the two paperwords the day after along with the yoga journal and oddly I have been called to pay for re-submitting them when our tutor mentioned repeatedly in the class that we could submit this documents at any point and that they didn't have to be completed on a certain date and that it was enough to show we have made a start on them on the assessment day.
Also, I have been charged for ''re-submitting'' the yoga journal when it has only been submitted once.
Took them two months to review this and yesterday, on the 12th March I received a message on Aptem from a person who presumably reviewed the session planning to say that I have been referred mainly because the names of the Asanas were incorrect apart from other comments I didn't even understand because they are not clear.
The names for Asanas were meant to be the same ones we had in our manual, a manual where the author had dyslexia and we were supposed to trust this person...
Basically, the same names of the same asanas that have been reviewed by my tutor on the 8th January and agreed they were all fine.
I have lived for two months under the impression that I only had to change the images when someone else woke up saying that in fact all paperwork is incorrect and it has to be amended....... just laughable.
They have managed to convert a dream I had into a complete nightmare and you had no right to do so!
The amount of stress they have put me through over this six months is indescribable and there was no need for it.
Avoid them!

March 19, 2024
Unprompted review

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look