GateMotors.co.uk Reviews 

590
•
TrustScore 2.5 out of 5

2.7

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

See what reviewers are saying

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Avoid this company at all costs! Have had nothing but trouble with electric gate openers which were supposed to be a superior product. Spent months trying to resolve a mechanical issue, with numerous... See more

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Gate motors send out so many parcels that they have elected not to send texts saying when their chosen courier company will deliver. Therefore, paid for next day delivery; didn’t know that package w... See more

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Bought and had a sliding gate system installed in 2021. The gate stopped working last week. I found a London engineer who put the fear of god into me about cost. I called Calum instead -... See more

Rated 2 out of 5 stars

After one week of waiting, my order had not arrived. On phoning, I was told that my original order had not been processed, but that it would be done immediately. Despite my request to have it sent ex... See more

Company replied

Company details

  1. Security Equipment Store
  2. also in
  3. Door Shop

Written by the company

We supply gate automation and access control products for swing & sliding gates. Just give us a call and we'll provide you with friendly, honest advice on the most suitable products for your system.


Contact info

2.7

Poor

TrustScore 2.5 out of 5

590 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

No recent history of asking for reviews

This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative

Hasn’t replied to negative reviews

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

2.7

All reviews

(590)

1 review in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Simple purchase on line

Simple purchase on line, resulted in a customer call and attentive chat about purchase.
Goods arrived on time, of good quality and perform as expected

June 22, 2022
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Service

Excellent Service. Had an issue with our gates and not sure? What we should be ordering. The lady I spoke to on the phone was most helpful pointed me in the right direction. And!! On the same day. Fast delivery. I would highly recommend this company

June 22, 2022
Unprompted review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Very poor customer service - avoid

Contrived returns process, no support and frankly rude and insulting communications. Avoid, avoid, avoid. I just hope the equipment we did install doesn’t need any rectification.

June 2, 2022
Unprompted review
GateMotors.co.uk logo

Reply from GateMotors.co.uk

Good morning,

I have looked through the recent correspondence between yourself, our Customer Care Team, and our Sales Team to understand your complaint.

Unfortunately, your return could not be accepted due to the timeframe since purchase. Out terms state 28 days for any returns, and it would appear that 3 months have passed since your original purchase. You advised that we should 'bend our processes' to accommodate such situations due to Covid and we will always review such situations and make allowances wherever possible. I'm afraid that it was not possible on this particular occasion.

Having reviewed all correspondence, I cannot see nor hear any time that any member of staff was rude to you at any point, but only trying to offer a clear explanation to you. Disappointingly, the responses they received were not the same. They were in regular contact with you throughout the process in order for you to be kept up to date.

We do help our customers wherever we can and make many allowances should it be possible. I understand that you are frustrated to not have been able to return your purchase from us, but due to the length of time passed, we could not consider your request any further.

Kind regards
The Gate Motors Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Double underground gate kit

I bought and installed a double underground gate kit. Prior to purchase I had lots of questions, all of which were patiently and comprehensively answered. After purchase, this assistance continued and when one of the remotes stopped working after 6 months, it was replaced straight away. The whole experience was very good, and I couldn't have asked for more.

April 12, 2022
Unprompted review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Ordered a replacement for a gate motor…

Ordered a replacement for a gate motor for a customer who has 8 motors in use and has used gatemotors previously.
The order was made following phone calls and photos to properly identify the motor required.
Dispite this .. after a 3 week wait the incorrect side of motor was delivered.. giving us a wasted journey to the job and further delay to the customer.
On reporting this to gatemotors the error was identified .. but it was a further week before i was contacted by customer services with a form to fill in for collection.
This form was hard to fill in because the original incorrect motor was sent without paperwork.
I then had to arrange for collection..and wait another week before they would "check the returned item for damage" before they would credit me so i could order the correct item.
The person taking the new order then tried to charge my credit card ..even though my credit for the returned item was with the company not credited to my card.
Another week later ive just has an email to say its been dispatched.
At many times dealing with gate motors is was obvious they had no idea what motor i had been sent so couldn't advise on what the correct item should be.
Dispite the cause of the wrong item being sent was there own ..they have shown no interest in getting out a replacement to me.. and offered to speed the process if i pay in advance for the replacement.
in short customer services very poor indeed .. their error has so far cost me a days labour for 2 guys and a total of 6 weeks of delay for no obvious reason.
use another company if you can.

April 8, 2022
Unprompted review
GateMotors.co.uk logo

Reply from GateMotors.co.uk

Good afternoon,

I have had a look into your recent purchase to understand the concerns you have raised. Having looked back through the information from when you placed your order I can see that we provided you with the motor that you requested.

When looking at the timeframes for your returns process, it shows that from the time you raised the return with us, to the replacement item being dispatched, it was exactly 14 days. We issued a returns form when you initially contacted us, and after receiving the completed form from you a few days later, we arranged for the item to be collected from you. A credit was then raised, and the new item dispatched straight away.

Our team were in regular contact with you throughout the process so that you were kept up to date with the situation. We strive to assist and update our customers wherever possible when situations such as this occur, and I can only offer my apologies if you feel that you have not received the level of customer service expected.

Kind regards
The Gate Motors Team

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Don't expect refund in a hurry

I ordered a motor from the website and paid in full via PayPal on the Saturday. On the Monday I received an email telling me the motor I required was not available and they would let me know by end of day if they could sort something out.
No one got back to me on the Monday so I emailed on the Tuesday to be told they hadn't managed to sort anything out ,fair enough. I asked for them to just refund my payment as I would ho else where only to be told a refund could take 5 to 10 working days to process, funnily enough I was not impressed.
On the 10th day I had still not received a refund so I called customer service to be told only the managing director had access to the PayPal account to refund payment and he was not in that day. I was told his assistant would make sure it was done first thing the following morning and she would call me as soon as it was done.
Refund was finally processed late morning the following day but no call to confirm.
As the payment was made by PayPal all that was required was to go into account and hit button for refund not exactly rocket science and certainly not an 11 working day job .

March 10, 2022
Unprompted review
GateMotors.co.uk logo

Reply from GateMotors.co.uk

Good afternoon,

I can see that you were contacted regarding your purchase on first business day after placing your order. Please accept our apologies if you were not contacted the same day to discuss our findings regarding an alternative replacement option. It is unusual that we are unable to source alternative products and our sales team were working hard to resolve this for you.

As you mention, a PayPal return is a simple and straightforward process. However, in our experience, PayPal themselves can occasionally take longer to transfer the funds back to the customer, and so we advise to allow 5-10 working days to receive any monies in your account. Once we have issued the refund, there is little we can do to speed this process up. During the time that you called for an update, it was our MD who was to issue the refund. As you were informed, he was not available at that time, but this would not delay the refund timeframe.

Looking at the telephone records, I can see that you were contacted by our MD’s P.A on two separate occasions but the call could not connect. I apologise if you felt we did not make any effort to contact you, I can assure you that this is not the case.

Kind regards
The Gate Motors Team

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Product never worked from day 1 and could never get any help to either test, replace or refund. £1000 of wasted money & time.

Bought a myAster 5Ti ( single motor/control box, switches, as self install kit) for around £1000. Could never get the Q80A control box to drive the motor in a clean garage bench test environment, despite many attempts. Tech support or product not good enough.

Constructive response from GateMotors, after several requests for support over many years. The pre-sales advice at the time of purchase for this self-install kit has changed to qualified gate installation engineer. This makes sense for the majority of purchases, although I've got the systems skills to install & support this simple farm gate single motor config, safely and at zero cost.

I'll assess the customer care options, the equipment has only been stored in a clean garage, without degradation. Could be too expensive to return and not confident that GateMotors will test or replace the Q80A control box (most likely faulty when shipped).
But thank GateMotors for their best efforts to progress this minor issue.

March 8, 2022
Unprompted review
GateMotors.co.uk logo

Reply from GateMotors.co.uk

Good afternoon,

I understand that you spoke with our sales team yesterday regarding your gate kit, and our advisor explained he would look into your request of further technical support and would come back to you shortly. It is disappointing that you did not allow us the relevant time to look into this before submitting your review.

We are a website sales company only and do not provide engineer support or attendance for our products. This information would have been made available to you at the point of sale. We are able to guide you on how to find a suitable installation engineer if this would be helpful to you, however. We always recommend using a qualified gate installation engineer for all of our products to ensure that they are correctly and safely fitted.

Without seeing the installation of your gate kit, we are unable to understand the issues that you are encountering, but if your items are showing to be faulty, we are more than happy to assist you with this by following our returns procedure. Please contact our customer care team who can assist you further with this.

Unfortunately, it looks as though the products were purchased from us in November 2017 and if they have been laid unused for some time and not regularly maintained, this could cause them to not function correctly.

Kind regards
The Gate Motors Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Happy customer

Really happy with my recent purchase and the sales guys were brilliant with helping me choose the right equipment for my gates.

February 7, 2022
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Simple replacement, great prices.

Realised a friend's automatic gate control board had finally failed I searched for a suitable replacement and found GateMotors web site. The single leaf controller appeared to fit the bill so I phoned to check and decided to order this. It arrived promptly, I was impressed that the company called me prior to despatch to check my order, its suitability and to 'gently delve whether I understood their product so could safely install it. The controller arrived so prior to installation I bench tested to ensure it would work as I expected - it did however the original transmitter key fob did not operate it. Another call to GateMotors to find reassurance from a charming customer service technician that likely my controller was incompatible, easily replaceable with one of their excellently priced self learning key fobs. Two of these have been ordered and I hope to fit controller early next week. I am positive my friend will once more have her operating gate.
Thank you GateMotors - great products, price and customer service

November 12, 2021
Unprompted review
Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible customer service after faulty product

We have received terrible service from Gate Motors. Our electric gate has a faulty motor and they have consistently refused to replace it despite one of their own trusted fitters having confirmed that the gate mechanism has been fitted correctly and that the motor is faulty. Do not use this company. We are now having to take legal action to reclaim the money we have spent on this electric gate mechanism.

September 3, 2021
Unprompted review
GateMotors.co.uk logo

Reply from GateMotors.co.uk

Good afternoon Mrs Smith,

We looked into the issues that you were experiencing in great detail including testing the equipment multiple times. The fault was found to be due to an installation error as opposed to faulty equipment.

We do not have a team of installation engineers as we are a website sales only business. We can advise of engineers local to your area, but we cannot be held responsible for their works. I believe that this is what happened on this occasion.

On providing all of the relevant information to your appointed legal team, they too agreed that our findings were correct and they closed the case.

Kind regards
The Gate Motors Team

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Gary Lovell

Gary Lovell gave superb support resolving a problem following the purchase of a new board for my electric gates from Gatemotors. I am recommending Gary Lovell and his company GFl Metal Works & Gate Automation.

August 18, 2021
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

After several years my Proteco Hook…

After several years my Proteco Hook gate openers stopped working. With excellent help from Craig in customer service we identified the problem(failed coils) ordered new coils and after receiving them very promptly, fitted them and all is back to normal. Bravo to Gate Motors!
Alastair Johnstone

June 6, 2021
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent advice

Excellent advice, great forward communication and delivery exactly as advised. Product brilliant . Will definitely come back to company

April 29, 2021
Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Ordered a new arm for our security gate…

Ordered a new arm for our security gate which was fine but we did not ask the question if the arm would be compatible with our controller box, which it wasn't. We have now replaced it with the compatible one. Everything is now working and was easy to fit. Easy to order on the phone. Just don't forget to ask the question.

April 29, 2021

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look